Gun laws are a controversial topic. Some people strongly favor a broad interpretation of the Second Amendment, while others have reservations about the sale and circulation of firearms. In Minnesota, it is lawful to conceal carry. However, certain prerequisites must be met before this permit can be obtained.
To obtain a concealed carry permit in Minnesota, you must first have a PCP (Permit to Carry a Pistol,) provide your fingerprints and ID, and undergo a background check. State law requires applicants to be at least 21 years old, a U.S. citizen, and have completed firearms training. Applicants who:
Will not be granted a permit to carry a handgun. A permit request must be approved by the county sheriff, which takes 30 days.
Any number of factors may prevent someone from getting a permit. Some people are simply barred from having them. For example, under Minnesota law, if someone is convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, they generally will not be granted a permit to carry. An experienced lawyer can provide more information on how these applications work and whether a particular person’s permit application might be denied.
Understanding concealed carry laws can be tricky. If you have questions about your rights regarding firearm possession or are facing criminal charges, give us a call at BK Law Group. Our experienced gun lawyers are here to protect your rights and help you understand your options in the event of an arrest.