Minnesota considers robbery a violent crime against a person, and conviction of a robbery offense could have a lifelong impact on a person’s ability to find employment and housing. If you are facing a robbery charge, you need an aggressive theft attorney working on your behalf.
The sooner you bring an experienced advocate onto your team, the better your odds of success. The best results are possible when you have a Hennepin County robbery lawyer by your side from the beginning.
What is Robbery?
Robbery is defined as taking something from another person by force or coercion. A robbery requires in-person interaction between two people. Breaking into an empty home or car is not considered robbery because these acts involve only one person.
However, entering an occupied home or business with the purpose of taking something is a form of robbery. Taking an occupied vehicle by force or threat of force, or taking something from an occupied vehicle, is robbery.
It is not necessary to use force against someone in order to be charged with robbery. Someone who threatens the use of force, or who implies that they possess and will use a weapon, could face an aggravated robbery charge, even if they did not actually have a weapon. If a defendant believes that their actions do not fall under the definition, they should work with a Hennepin County robbery attorney.
Levels of Robbery Charges
The law categorizes robbery by the degree of force allegedly used rather than the value of the items allegedly taken. Depending on the circumstances, a prosecutor could bring charges of simple robbery, aggravated robbery in the second degree, or aggravated robbery in the first degree.
Minnesota Statutes § 609.24 defines simple robbery as taking something from a person or taking something in another person’s presence by using or threatening force. The person who is taking the property must be aware that the property belongs to someone else. The sentence for a simple robbery conviction is up to 10 years imprisonment and a fine that cannot exceed $20,000.
Aggravated Robbery, Second Degree
When a person implies that they possess a deadly weapon and uses the threat of that weapon to intimidate or coerce someone to give up property, the person could be charged with aggravated robbery in the second degree. It is not necessary that the person charged actually had a weapon; the charge is based on the threat of force. A local robbery attorney could help determine whether something should be considered a threat or not. Upon conviction of second-degree aggravated robbery, the sentence is to be no more than 15 years of incarceration and a fine of up to $30,000.
Aggravated Robbery, First Degree
A person who is visibly armed while taking something from another, or inflicts bodily harm on another while taking something from them, could face a first-degree aggravated robbery charge. The “weapon” need not actually be functional or dangerous; it need only appear to be a dangerous weapon. A person who is convicted of first-degree aggravated robbery faces a prison sentence of up to 20 years and a fine that cannot exceed $35,000.
Draft Your Defense with a Hennepin County Robbery Attorney
One of the features of our criminal justice system is that prosecutors must prove every element of a charge beyond a reasonable doubt. Forcing them to do that is the job of a criminal defense attorney. After learning more about the situation in question, it might be possible to cast sincere doubt on the charges.
Robbery is a serious crime that carries severe consequences. Contact a Hennepin County robbery lawyer as soon as possible to discuss how to handle your defense.